🔍

Jefit Review 2026: 1,400+ Exercises, an Elite Paywall and Ads

Quick answer

JEFIT Workout Plan Gym Tracker is a mature, feature-dense workout planner: 1,400+ exercises with HD video, AI Adaptive Plans, Apple Watch live sync, a social community and apps for iOS, Android and the web, rated 4.8 from about 47,000 US App Store ratings. The catch is the split: full analytics, premium routines, HD video, unlimited Instant Workouts and an ad-free experience are Elite features at $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year, with no lifetime option, and Jefit's privacy documents describe advertising and analytics providers and usage-data tracking.

What Jefit is

JEFIT Workout Plan Gym Tracker, subtitle "Training Log Fitness Planner", is one of the oldest workout apps still in active development. It was first released on the App Store on 25 July 2011 and is on version 17.2.0 as of 3 September 2026, from Jefit Inc. in California. It runs on iOS 15 or later with an Apple Watch app, and Jefit's support page and FAQ show the product also spans Android and a web dashboard.

Jefit's own framing is "Track & Plan Workouts" on the home page and "the ultimate workout tracker to plan your strength training, log workouts, and track exercise progress" on the App Store. The home page claims 20M+ downloads, 12M+ members and 42,000+ five-star ratings. The US App Store shows 4.8 from about 47,000 ratings, checked 11 September 2026.

Everything here comes from Jefit's App Store listing, website, FAQ and privacy policy as of that date; where Jefit does not say something, we say so.

Pricing as listed

The free tier is called Basic. Jefit's Elite page describes it as "Everything necessary to get started" and lists "Free and custom workout routines", "Over 1,400 Exercises with guided instructions", "Exercising logging and history" and "Community access and support".

Elite is listed at "$12.99/month" and "$69.99/year" on jefit.com, which calls the annual plan a "60% discount when paid annually"; the App Store description says "Save over 55%". The App Store in-app purchase list is messier than the pricing page: alongside Elite Monthly at $12.99 and Elite Yearly at $69.99 it shows Elite Yearly entries at $35.99 and $34.99 and legacy tiers at $6.99 and $39.99, none of which the Elite page explains.

There is no lifetime or one-time purchase anywhere on the Elite page or in the IAP list. There is no stated Elite free trial; the only trial mentioned is a 7-day Adaptive Plans trial for free users in the version 17.0.14 notes, and whether it converts into Elite is unverified. Subscriptions can be cancelled at any time, at least 24 hours before renewal, and web-bought plans are managed from the jefit.com account settings. Elite can also be earned: Iron Points, gained by logging workouts and completing challenges, can be redeemed for weeks of Elite membership.

What is genuinely good

The exercise library is the headline. Jefit states 1,400+ exercises with HD video instructions and animations, with custom exercises on top. If you train with unusual machines or want a demonstration for every movement, this is the reason to install it.

The programming layer is deep. Adaptive Plan builds a personalized training plan around your goal, level and equipment, and Jefit describes it as "powered by AI and backed by mesocycle and progressive overload science". The progressive overload system analyzes past logs to suggest the next weight and reps; the FAQ says the Strength Engine is live, with mesocycle adaptation "coming soon", and that weight jumps are typically 2.5 to 5 percent depending on equipment. Instant Workout generates a session from duration, muscles and equipment, and the home page claims thousands of expert-designed plans.

Logging is thorough for a tap-based tracker: sets, reps, weight and notes per exercise, rest time logged automatically, sets tagged warm-up, working, drop or failure, supersets with a custom rest timer, progress photos on any workout, and sessions editable from the calendar afterwards.

The Apple Watch app is a real feature, with live sync between phone and watch, heart rate and calories, a lock-screen rest timer and a home-screen widget.

Analytics are broad: volume, muscle focus, weekly sets per muscle, movement balance, a muscle recovery chart, BodyMap percentages per workout, body measurements, and automatic one-rep-max calculation for every exercise with share cards for records.

The community is unusual among trackers: friends, groups, private messages, a public feed, monthly and seasonal contests with leaderboards, Iron Points, badges and a Year in Review. For people who train better with an audience, this is a genuine strength.

What is weak or missing

The Elite split is the main weakness, because much of the list above is paid. Jefit's FAQ says full analytics are included in Elite, that Elite provides premium routines and exercises not available to free users, that Instant Workout is a premium feature with free users getting a limited number, and it frames HD exercise videos as something you see with an Elite subscription. The Elite page lists "Watch app support" as a paid benefit while the App Store lists Apple Watch live sync under core features; which parts are free is unverified.

Ads come with the free tier. "Ad-free experience" is an Elite benefit on the Elite page, and the privacy policy names AdMob by Google and Amazon A9 Ads among advertising providers, stating "We may use Service Providers to show advertisements to You to help support and maintain Our Service." Jefit does not say how heavy the ad load is.

Tracking is declared on the App Store privacy card. It shows "Data Used to Track You: Usage Data" and, under "Data Not Linked to You", Health & Fitness, Location, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data and Diagnostics. The detailed purposes include Device ID for Third-Party Advertising, and Coarse Location, Email Address and Product Interaction for Analytics. As with every app, Apple notes this information has not been verified by Apple.

Several basics are simply not documented. Apple Health integration is not mentioned on the listing, site, FAQ or privacy policy. Data export is not mentioned; the policy grants a right to a copy of your personal data but describes no in-app export. Offline use is not mentioned, and the FAQ's references to sync imply a server-backed account. Whether the app runs without any account is also not stated. All four are unverified, which is itself a finding.

Logging is manual only. No voice logging appears anywhere on Jefit's materials, and the app is localized in six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Simplified Chinese and Spanish.

Privacy, in Jefit's words

The privacy policy, last updated 6 December 2024, defines an Account as "A unique account created for You to access our Service or parts of our Service" and allows sign-in through Google, Facebook and Apple. On storage, said of location, contacts and camera data: "The information may be uploaded to the Company's servers and/or a Service Provider's server or it may be simply stored on Your device." On transfer: "this information may be transferred to — and maintained on — computers located outside of Your state, province, country or other governmental jurisdiction where the data protection laws may differ than those from Your jurisdiction." On sale: "We do not sell your personal information. Jefit may aggregate the information you and others make available in connection with the Services and post it publicly or share it with third parties."

Third parties named: Google Analytics, Firebase and Amplitude for analytics; Google AdSense and DoubleClick, AdMob by Google and Amazon A9 Ads for advertising; Apple, Google Play and Stripe for payments. Device data the app may access: location, the phone's contacts list, and pictures from the camera and photo library. You can access, update or request deletion of your data within account settings, or write to [email protected]. The website's cookie banner states that optional analytics cookies only run if you accept.

None of this is unusual for an ad-supported, account-based fitness app; it is worth reading before you upload a year of training data and progress photos.

Who Jefit suits

Jefit suits the lifter who wants the app to do the programming: an AI-built plan, a progression suggestion each session, a video for every exercise and a social layer with contests and points. It suits people who split time between iPhone and Android, and Apple Watch users who want heart rate in the log. It is a fair free logger if you accept ads and the analytics cap, and a reasonable $69.99 a year if you will use the plans, the video and the analytics.

It suits less well the lifter who already has a program, wants logging to take seconds, trains in a language outside Jefit's six, or does not want an account and an advertising-linked privacy card attached to their gym history.

How it compares to Strongbro

Strongbro is the opposite shape of app. Its main logging path is voice: describe the sets out loud, in any of 30 or more languages, review the parsed numbers and tap Done. Its exercise library is nearly 100 movements with form guides and personal history rather than 1,400 with video, and it has no feed, no contests and no plan library. Data stays on the iPhone with no account, and it costs $14.99 a year or $19.99 once after a 3-day trial, against Jefit's $69.99 a year with no lifetime option. Jefit is bigger in every direction that can be counted; Strongbro is faster to log and shorter on privacy policy. The full Strongbro vs Jefit comparison sets the two side by side, feature by feature and price by price.

The bottom line

Jefit is a serious, long-lived workout planner with a very large exercise library, deep programming tools, Apple Watch support, three platforms and a real community. The trade is that the good parts are largely Elite at $69.99 a year, the free tier carries ads and limits, and the privacy documentation describes an account model with a long list of analytics and advertising providers, while Apple Health, export and offline use go unmentioned. If you want to be coached and kept company, it earns its price. If you want a quick, private log, it is more app than you need.

Get Strongbro on the App StoreFree for 3 days. $19.99 once for lifetime.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a Jefit lifetime purchase?

No. Jefit's Elite page lists a monthly plan at $12.99 and an annual plan at $69.99, and the App Store in-app purchase list shows only monthly and yearly subscriptions plus legacy subscription tiers. No one-time or lifetime purchase appears on either. The only non-cash route to Elite is Iron Points, which Jefit says can be redeemed for weeks of Elite membership.

What do free Jefit users miss?

According to Jefit's FAQ and Elite page, free users get a limited number of Instant Workouts, do not get full analytics, cannot use premium routines and exercises, and do not see HD exercise videos. An ad-free experience is listed as an Elite benefit, so the free tier is ad-supported. Basic logging, history, custom routines and community access are included for free.

Does Jefit Elite have a free trial?

No Elite trial is stated on the Elite page or in the App Store in-app purchase list. The only trial Jefit mentions is for Adaptive Plans: the version 17.0.14 release notes say free users can unlock a personalized program with a 7-day trial. Whether that trial converts into a paid Elite subscription is not stated, so treat it as unverified.

What data does Jefit collect?

The App Store privacy card declares Usage Data as data used to track you, and Health & Fitness, Location, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data and Diagnostics as data not linked to you. Jefit's policy names Google Analytics, Firebase, Amplitude, AdMob, Amazon A9 and others, and says the app may access location, contacts and photos. Apple notes the card is not verified by Apple.

How big is Jefit's exercise library, and is the video free?

Jefit states 1,400+ exercises with HD video instructions and animations on the App Store, and over 1,400 exercises with guided instructions on its Elite page. Custom exercises can be added. HD video is tied to Elite: the FAQ frames it as something you see with an Elite subscription. Free users get the library and guided instructions without the HD demonstrations.

What platforms does Jefit run on?

iOS, Android and the web. The App Store listing requires iOS 15 or later, Apple Watch with watchOS 10 or later, and also lists Mac with Apple silicon and Apple Vision, with the note that it is designed for iPhone and not verified for macOS. Jefit's support page links iOS, Android and web subscription management, and the FAQ refers to a web dashboard.

What this is based on

Get Strongbro on the App StoreFree for 3 days. $19.99 once for lifetime.