Strongbro vs Jefit (2026): Voice Logging vs the Big Database
Quick answer
Jefit is the big, mature tracker: an exercise library it puts at 1,400+ with HD video, AI Adaptive Plans, Apple Watch live sync, a community with contests, and apps for iOS, Android and the web. Most of that sits behind Elite at $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year, and the free tier carries ads. Strongbro is the small, quiet one: say the workout out loud, it logs the sets, the data stays on your iPhone with no account, and it costs $14.99 a year or $19.99 once. Pick Jefit for programs and community; Strongbro for three-second logging and privacy.
Verdict
Jefit and Strongbro are both workout trackers, and that is roughly where the overlap ends. JEFIT Workout Plan Gym Tracker is the large, mature option: on the App Store since July 2011, an exercise library it puts at 1,400+ with HD video, AI-driven adaptive programming, Apple Watch live sync, a community with contests and leaderboards, and versions for iOS, Android and the web. Most of that sits behind Elite at $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year, and an ad-free experience is one of the things Elite buys you. Strongbro is the small, quiet option: you say the workout out loud, it logs the sets, the data stays on your iPhone with no account, and it costs $14.99 a year or $19.99 once.
The ideal Jefit user wants a program handed to them, a video for every exercise, and a social layer that keeps them accountable, and is content to pay a subscription or tolerate ads for it. The ideal Strongbro user already knows what to do in the gym, wants logging to take three seconds between sets, and would rather the training history never left the phone.
Everything below about Jefit comes from its own App Store listing, website, FAQ and privacy policy, checked on 11 September 2026. Where Jefit does not state something, we say so rather than guess. The full Jefit review goes deeper on the app itself.
Feature comparison
| Feature | JEFIT Workout Plan Gym Tracker | Strongbro |
|---|---|---|
| Logging method | Manual set entry: sets, reps, weight and notes, started from a plan day. Rest time is logged automatically; sets can be tagged warm-up, working, drop or failure; exercises group into supersets. No voice logging is mentioned on the listing, site or FAQ. | Voice first: say the exercise, weight and reps; the model expands slang, converts plate maths and shows every set for review before saving. A keypad is the backup. |
| Languages | 6 (English, French, German, Italian, Simplified Chinese, Spanish) | Interface in 31 languages; voice input in 30+ |
| Exercise database | "1,400+ exercises with HD video instructions and animations", as Jefit states it. Custom exercises supported. HD video is tied to Elite. | Nearly 100 exercises grouped by muscle, each with a form guide, images and your own history. Custom exercises added in one sheet. |
| Programs | "Thousands of elite plans designed by experts", as Jefit states it; built-in bodybuilding programs; premium routines are Elite-only; AI Adaptive Plans with a 7-day trial for free users. | You log your own program set by set; the guide linked below shows how. |
| Records | Automatic 1RM for every exercise; share cards for milestones and 1RM records. | Best weight and estimated 1RM per exercise with full session history; a 14-rank ladder earned by sessions logged. |
| Apple Watch | Live sync, heart rate and calories, lock-screen rest timer, home-screen widget. Listed under Elite on jefit.com and under core features on the App Store; which parts are free is unverified. | No Apple Watch app |
| Apple Health | Not mentioned on any Jefit source; unverified. | No Apple Health sync |
| Export | Not mentioned on any Jefit source. The privacy policy offers a copy of your personal data on request; an in-app export is unverified. | CSV export from Settings: workouts, records, body measurements, or everything |
| Offline use | Not mentioned; unverified. The FAQ refers to sync, implying a server-backed account. | Log stored on the device. Voice logging needs a connection for the AI model. |
| Account required | Unverified whether the app runs without one. Sign-in via Google, Facebook or Apple; social, contests, sync and Iron Points all presuppose an account. | No account |
| Ads in free tier | Implied: "Ad-free experience" is sold as an Elite benefit; the policy names AdMob by Google and Amazon A9 Ads. | No free tier: 3-day trial, then paid. There is no ad-supported version. |
| AI features | Adaptive Plan built around goal, level and equipment; AI progressive-overload suggestions (Strength Engine live, mesocycle adaptation "coming soon"); Instant Workout generator, limited for free users. | Voice parsing model; AI physique scan that scores one photo 0 to 100 overall and per body part. |
"Unverified" on the Jefit side means the sources listed at the bottom of this page do not say.
Two rows deserve a closer look. On logging, Jefit's FAQ describes the loop plainly: select a workout day from your plan, start the workout, track each exercise with sets, reps, weight and notes. It is a good version of the standard tap-and-type flow, with set tagging and supersets that many trackers lack. Strongbro's voice logging replaces that flow with a sentence: "bench 80, three sets of ten, then squats five by five at a hundred" becomes eight structured sets, and a misheard weight is a two-tap fix on the review screen. On the exercise database, Jefit wins outright; its stated 1,400+ entries with HD video dwarf Strongbro's exercise library of nearly 100, though Strongbro's is built around your history, with best lift, estimated 1RM and every past set on each exercise page.
Pricing
| Plan | JEFIT Workout Plan Gym Tracker | Strongbro |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Basic: "Free and custom workout routines", "Over 1,400 Exercises with guided instructions", "Exercising logging and history", "Community access and support". Limits: a limited number of Instant Workouts, no full analytics, no premium routines, no HD videos, ads. | None. A 3-day free trial of the full app. |
| Monthly | Elite $12.99 / month | None |
| Annual | Elite Annual $69.99 / year (jefit.com calls it a 60% discount, the App Store "Save over 55%") | $14.99 / year |
| Lifetime | Not listed on the Elite page or in the App Store in-app purchase list | $19.99 once |
| Trial | No Elite trial stated. A 7-day trial of Adaptive Plans for free users (v17.0.14 notes); whether it rolls into Elite is unverified. | 3 days |
| Other | The App Store IAP list also shows Elite Yearly at $35.99 and $34.99 and legacy tiers at $6.99 and $39.99. Weeks of Elite can be redeemed with Iron Points. Cancel at least 24 hours before renewal. |
The arithmetic is simple. One year of Jefit Elite is $69.99; one year of Strongbro is $14.99, about one-fifth. Three years of Elite is around $210 against Strongbro's $19.99 lifetime price. Jefit's free tier is real and usable for basic logging, so the fair comparison is Jefit Basic with ads and limits versus Strongbro at $14.99, or Jefit Elite versus Strongbro, and in the second case the price gap is the story.
Privacy and where your data lives
This is where the two apps differ most, and Jefit's own documents describe its model clearly.
Jefit's privacy policy, last updated 6 December 2024, says of location, contacts and camera data: "The information may be uploaded to the Company's servers and/or a Service Provider's server or it may be simply stored on Your device." On transfer: "Your information, including Personal Data, is processed at the Company's operating offices and in any other places where the parties involved in the processing are located. It means that this information may be transferred to — and maintained on — computers located outside of Your state, province, country or other governmental jurisdiction where the data protection laws may differ than those from Your jurisdiction." On sale: "We do not sell your personal information. Jefit may aggregate the information you and others make available in connection with the Services and post it publicly or share it with third parties."
The policy names Google Analytics, Firebase and Amplitude for analytics; Google AdSense and DoubleClick, AdMob by Google and Amazon A9 Ads for advertising; Apple, Google Play and Stripe for payments; and Google, Facebook and Apple for sign-in. It also lists device data the app may access: location, the phone's contacts list, and pictures from the camera and photo library. Deletion is available "directly within Your account settings section", with [email protected] as the fallback.
The App Store privacy card for Jefit, as shown on the listing, declares "Data Used to Track You: Usage Data" and, under "Data Not Linked to You", Health & Fitness, Location, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data and Diagnostics. Detailed purposes include Device ID for Third-Party Advertising and Coarse Location, Email Address and Product Interaction for Analytics. No "Data Linked to You" section appears. Apple's standard note applies: this information has not been verified by Apple.
Strongbro's model is shorter to describe. There is no account and no cloud gallery; the log, the records and the physique scans live on your iPhone. Voice recordings are sent to an AI model through our proxy for parsing and then discarded, and a scan photo is resized on the device, scored, and not kept by us. Delete a scan and it is gone.
Neither model is wrong. Jefit's server-backed account is what makes cross-platform sync, a social feed and contests possible. Strongbro's on-device model is what makes "no account" possible. You are choosing which trade you prefer.
Who should pick Jefit
- You want a program built for you. Adaptive Plans, an AI progressive-overload system that suggests the next weight and reps, an Instant Workout generator and a library Jefit puts at thousands of plans are the core of the Elite offer.
- You train on Android or want a web dashboard. Jefit spans iOS, Android and the web, with subscriptions manageable from each.
- You want a video for every exercise. The 1,400+ library with HD demonstrations is the biggest in this comparison, and custom exercises are supported on top.
- You lift with an Apple Watch and want heart rate and calories in the log. Jefit's listing describes live sync between phone and watch, a lock-screen rest timer and a widget.
- You are motivated by other people. Friends, groups, private messages, monthly contests with leaderboards, Iron Points and badges are all part of the product.
- You want broad analytics: volume, weekly sets per muscle, movement balance, muscle recovery, BodyMap and body measurements, with the full set in Elite.
Who should pick Strongbro
- You already have a program and hate typing between sets. Say the sets; review; done. Slang and plate maths are handled, and nothing saves without your tap.
- You train in a language Jefit does not ship. Jefit's iOS app is localized in six languages; Strongbro's interface comes in 31, and voice input handles any major language.
- You do not want an account or a server holding your history. Strongbro's log lives on the phone. Jefit's policy describes uploads to its servers and to service providers.
- You want to pay once. Jefit lists no lifetime option; Strongbro is $19.99 for good, or $14.99 a year.
- You want an honest read on your physique. Jefit stores progress photos but says it does not monitor form visually and lists no photo analysis. Strongbro's physique scan scores a photo overall and per body part and tracks the trend on the device.
- You prefer quiet gamification. Strongbro's 14 ranks are earned by training days logged and shown as one grey line, with no feed and no leaderboard.
If you are unsure how to record a program in either app, the guide on how to log a strength training program covers 5x5, top sets with back-offs, waves and RPE templates, and the awkward sets in between.
The bottom line
Jefit is the bigger app in every measurable way: more exercises, more programs, more platforms, more analytics, more people, and fifteen years of history. It also costs $69.99 a year for the full version, is ad-supported below that, and runs on an account model whose privacy policy names a long list of analytics and advertising providers. Strongbro does one thing Jefit does not attempt, logging by voice in 30 or more languages, keeps everything on the phone, and costs $14.99 a year or $19.99 once. If you want a coach and a community, Jefit is the reasonable choice. If you want the fastest possible log and the shortest possible privacy policy, Strongbro is. Read the Jefit review for the fuller picture of what the free and Elite tiers include.
Get Strongbro on the App StoreFree for 3 days. $19.99 once for lifetime.
Frequently asked questions
Is Jefit free to use?
There is a free Basic tier. Jefit's Elite page lists it as including free and custom routines, over 1,400 exercises with guided instructions, logging and history, and community access. Free users get a limited number of Instant Workouts, no full analytics, no premium routines and no HD exercise videos, and an ad-free experience is sold as an Elite benefit, so expect ads.
How much does Jefit Elite cost compared with Strongbro?
Jefit lists Elite at $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year on jefit.com and on the App Store. No lifetime purchase is listed anywhere. Strongbro is $14.99 a year or $19.99 as a one-time lifetime purchase, after a 3-day trial. Over one year Jefit Elite costs roughly 4.7 times as much; over three years the gap against Strongbro's lifetime price is about ten to one.
Does Jefit have voice logging?
No voice logging is mentioned on Jefit's App Store listing, home page, Elite page or FAQ. Jefit's FAQ describes tracking each exercise with sets, reps, weight and notes, started from a plan day, with rest time logged automatically. Strongbro's mic button is its main logging path: you describe the sets out loud, review the parsed numbers and tap Done.
Does Jefit work offline?
Jefit does not say. Offline use is not mentioned on its listing, site or FAQ, so we treat it as unverified. The FAQ's troubleshooting advice and a developer reply in reviews refer to sync, which implies a server-backed account model. Strongbro stores the log on the device; only voice logging needs a connection, because the audio is parsed by an AI model.
Do you need an account to use Jefit?
Jefit's privacy policy describes creating an account and signing in through Google, Facebook or Apple, and its social features, contests, sync and Iron Points all presuppose one. Whether the iOS app can be used with no account at all is not stated on the sources we checked, so it is unverified. Strongbro has no account to create.
Which app has the bigger exercise library?
Jefit, by a wide margin. It states 1,400+ exercises with HD video instructions and animations, with HD video tied to Elite. Strongbro ships nearly 100 exercises grouped by muscle, each with a form guide, images and your personal history, and lets you add custom entries in one sheet. If you want a video for every obscure machine, Jefit's library is the real advantage.
Does Jefit show ads or track usage?
Jefit's Elite page lists an ad-free experience as a paid benefit, and its privacy policy names AdMob by Google and Amazon A9 Ads among advertising providers. The App Store privacy card for Jefit declares Usage Data under Data Used to Track You and Device ID for third-party advertising, with Apple's usual note that the developer's information is not verified by Apple.
Which app is better for following a written program?
Jefit, if you want the program supplied: it claims thousands of expert-designed plans, built-in bodybuilding programs and AI Adaptive Plans, with premium routines behind Elite. Strongbro assumes you have a program already and makes logging it fast; our guide on logging a strength program covers how to record 5x5, waves and RPE templates set by set.
What this is based on
Get Strongbro on the App StoreFree for 3 days. $19.99 once for lifetime.